qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update KW16 En| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 16/21

Medical Devices - Guidelines and Regulations Worldwide


Europe

Transition periods of class D IVDs

Another MDCG guidance document has seen the light of day: "Application of transitional provisions for certification of class D in vitro diagnostic medical devices according to Regulation (EU) 2017/746". This document deals in detail with the integration of so-called EU reference laboratories (EURLs). These will be consulted by the Notified Body during conformity assessment procedures when no common specifications (GS) exist for a class D in vitro diagnostic device.

The most important news: an IVD product can obtain its certificate before the IVDR comes into force on May 26, 2022, even without the involvement of a EURL. This is fortunate, because these are not yet certified themselves...


„New Approach“ and „New Legislative Framework“

MDCG document 2021-5 on standardization in medical technology is also hot off the press. It describes the European "New Approach" and the "New Legislative Framework" with regard to the medical device sector. Among other things, these approaches give rise to the use of harmonized standards and the resulting assumption of conformity when these are applied.

Although this Guidance does not contain any new information, it does provide some important clarification on the state of the art and the tasks of Notified Bodies, because harmonized standards can be applied, but do not have to be!


International News

USA

The FDA has updated eight classification regulations related to devices using software:

Classification Regulation (21 CFR)Device Type (existing product code(s))
862.2100Calculator/Data Processing Module for Clinical Use (JQP, NVV)
862.1350Continuous Glucose Monitor Secondary Display (PJT, PKU)
866.4750Automated Indirect Immunofluorescence Microscope and Software-Assisted System (PIV)
880.6310Medical Device Data System (OUG)
884.2730Home Uterine Activity Monitor (LQK, MOH)
892.2010Medical Image Storage Device (LMB, NFF)
892.2020Medical Image Communications Device (NFG, LMD)
892.2050Picture Archiving and Communications System(QIH, OMJ, NWE, PGY, OEB, QKB, PZO, NFJ, LLZ) 

The goal of the update is that they no longer include software functions that are excluded from the device definition by section 520(o)(1) of the FD&C Act and thus are not subject to FDA’s device statutory authority.

This includes software functions that are solely intended to transfer, store, convert formats, or display, unless such functions are intended to interpret or analyze clinical laboratory test or other device data, results, and findings.

The respective classification regulations are going to be changed when the final rule is published and legally binding on April 19, 2021.


Australia

Clinical Evidence Guideline

The Australian TGA has issued a Guideline on Clinical Evidence, which is aimed at manufacturers of both medical devices and in vitro diagnostic products.

The document is divided into two parts: Part 1 contains general information on clinical evidence of safety and performance and explains the associated 15 TGA "Essential Principles" applicable to IVDs. Part 2 bundles information on the same topic for six specific types of medical devices. These are, for example, prosthetic joints or implantable pulse generators. The guideline can be found under the following link:


Malaysia

Medical Device Advertisement Approval

Malaysian laws contain sections that regulate the correct application of medical devices. For example, the specific requirements can be found in Section 44 of the Medical Device Act 2012.

The just issued Guidance from the Malaysian MDA deals with exactly this topic and describes the procedure for obtaining permission to advertise medical devices in Malaysia. The full document can be found here:


Medical Device Code of Advertisement

Another MDA document takes the same line: if permission is obtained to advertise medical technology products, a number of rules must be observed. For example, a special notice must be used for advertising aimed at children.

These and many other points can be found in a guidance that has just been updated. Also of interest are the paragraphs that must be observed when advertising with healthcare professionals or user testimonials. The entire code can be read at the following link:


Yes we can help you!

Just give us a call / email and over 60 experts are standing ready to offer you assistance and support.

Contact +49 451 808 503 60
 

All updates compiled in one PDF file:

You can download all Regulatory Affairs Updates compiled for you as a PDF under the following link.

qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update KW16| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 16/21

Medizinprodukte - Weltweite Richtlinien und Vorschriften


Europa

Übergangszeiten von Klasse D IVDs

Ein weiteres Guidance-Dokument der MDCG hat das Licht der Welt erblickt: „Application of transitional provisions for certification of class D in vitro diagnostic medical devices according to Regulation (EU) 2017/746“. In diesem Dokument geht es im Detail um die Einbindung sogenannter EU-Referenzlaboratorien (EURLs). Diese werden von der Benannten Stelle während eines Konformitätsbewertungsverfahrens konsultiert, wenn für ein Klasse D In-vitro-Diagnostikum keine gemeinsamen Spezifikationen (GS) existieren.

Die wichtigste Nachricht: ein IVD-Produkt kann vor Geltungsbeginn der IVDR am 26. Mai 2022 auch ohne Einbeziehung eines EURL sein Zertifikat erwerben. Ein Glück, denn diese sind nämlich selber noch gar nicht zertifiziert…


„New Approach“ und „New Legislative Framework“

Brandaktuell ist auch das MDCG-Dokument 2021-5 zur Standardisierung in der Medizintechnik. Es beschreibt den europäischen „New Approach“ und den „New Legislative Framework“ mit Blick auf den Medizinproduktesektor. Aus diesen Ansätzen entspringt unter anderem die Verwendung von harmonisierten Normen und die daraus resultierende Konformitätsvermutung bei Anwendung ebendieser.

Neue Informationen enthält diese Guidance zwar nicht, dennoch bietet sie einige wichtige Klarstellungen zum Stand der Technik und den Aufgaben von Benannten Stellen, denn harmonisierte Normen können angewandt werden, müssen es aber nicht!


Internationale News

USA

Die FDA hat acht Klassifizierungsvorschriften in Bezug auf „devices using software“ geupdated:

Classification Regulation (21 CFR)Device Type (existing product code(s))
862.2100Calculator/Data Processing Module for Clinical Use (JQP, NVV)
862.1350Continuous Glucose Monitor Secondary Display (PJT, PKU)
866.4750Automated Indirect Immunofluorescence Microscope and Software-Assisted System (PIV)
880.6310Medical Device Data System (OUG)
884.2730Home Uterine Activity Monitor (LQK, MOH)
892.2010Medical Image Storage Device (LMB, NFF)
892.2020Medical Image Communications Device (NFG, LMD)
892.2050Picture Archiving and Communications System(QIH, OMJ, NWE, PGY, OEB, QKB, PZO, NFJ, LLZ) 

Ziel der Aktualisierung ist es, dass die Vorschriften keine Softwarefunktionen mehr enthalten, die durch Abschnitt 520(o)(1) des FD&C Acts von der Produktdefinition ausgeschlossen sind und somit nicht der gesetzlichen Produktautorität der FDA unterliegen.

Dazu gehören Softwarefunktionen, die ausschließlich dazu bestimmt sind, Formate zu übertragen, zu speichern, zu konvertieren oder anzuzeigen, es sei denn, solche Funktionen dienen der Interpretation oder Analyse von Daten, Ergebnissen und Befunden von klinischen Labortests oder anderen Produkten.

Die entsprechenden Klassifizierungsvorschriften werden mit der Veröffentlichung der endgültigen Regelung, die am 19. April 2021 rechtsverbindlich wird, geändert.


Australien

Clinical Evidence Guideline

Die australische TGA hat eine Guideline zum Thema „Clinical Evidence“ herausgegeben, welche sich an Hersteller von sowohl Medizinprodukten als auch In-vitro-Diagnostika richtet.

Das Dokument ist unterteilt in zwei Teile. Teil 1 beinhaltet allgemeine Informationen zum klinischen Nachweis der Sicherheit und Leistungsfähigkeit und erläutert die zugehörigen für IVDs geltenden 15 „Essential Principles“ der TGA. Teil 2 bündelt Informationen zum selbigen Thema zu sechs bestimmten Arten von Medizinprodukten. Dies sind z. B. Gelenkprothesen oder implantierbare Pulsgeneratoren. Unter folgendem Link ist die Guideline zu finden:


Malaysia

Medizinprodukte-Werbegenehmigung

Die malaysischen Gesetze beinhalten Paragraphen, welche die korrekte Bewerbung von Medizinprodukten regeln. So sind die konkreten Anforderungen in Abschnitt 44 des Medical Device Act 2012 zu finden.

Die gerade herausgegebene Guidance der MDA befasst sich mit genau diesem Thema und beschreibt das Verfahren zum Erlangen der Erlaubnis, Medizinprodukte in Malaysia bewerben zu dürfen. Das komplette Dokument ist hier zu finden:


Werbungskodex von Medizinprodukten

In dieselbe Kerbe schlägt ein weiteres Dokument der MDA: wurde die Erlaubnis zur Bewerbung von Medizin-produkten erlangt, gilt es einige Punkte zu beachten. Zum Beispiel muss bei Werbung, die sich an Kinder richtet, ein besonderer Hinweis genutzt werden.

Diese und viele weitere Punkte finden Sie in einem Leitfaden, der gerade aktualisiert wurde. Interessant sind auch die Paragraphen, die bei der Werbung mit healthcare professionals oder sogenannten user testimonials beachtet werden müssen. Der gesamte Kodex kann unter folgendem Link gelesen werden:


Ja, wir können Ihnen helfen!

Rufen Sie uns einfach an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail. Über 60 Experten stehen bereit, um Ihnen Hilfe und Unterstützung zu bieten.

Kontakt +49 451 808 503 60
 

Wir haben alle Updates für Sie im Überblick:

Unter folgendem Link können Sie die von uns zusammengestellten Regulatory Affairs Updates als PDF herunterladen.