Regulatory Affairs Updates | CW13 21| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 13/21

Medical Devices - Guidelines and Regulations Worldwide


Europa

Notified Bodies

It's getting tight: the date of application of Regulation (EU) 2017/745 is getting closer and closer and currently there are just 19 Notified Bodies available. For Regulation (EU) 2017/746, the situation is even more dramatic, as the participation of Notified Bodies under the Regulation will increase dramatically.

The European Commission has now updated their overview showing the number of Notified Bodies depending on their respective status in the certification process. Currently there are 23 (MDR) and 7 (IVDR) Notified Bodies in the certification process. You can see where exactly in the certification process the bodies are located in the document. It is available under the following link:


MDCG updates

The latest MDCG guidance answers the most frequently asked questions about custom-made devices. The focus is on the question of which products can be approved as custom-made devices and what requirements result from this for the manufacturers.


COVID-19

In a further guidance, the MDCG addresses the state of the art of Covid-19 rapid antibody tests. Both Directive 98/79/EC and Regulation (EU) 2017/746 are based on the generally accepted state of the art when assessing the intended performance of in vitro diagnostic devices. This makes it all the more important as a manufacturer to know this precisely. MDCG examined 102 instructions for use of Covid-19 rapid test. The results are summarized with regard to the modalities of performance evaluation and on diagnostic performance in this document.


IMDRF

Worldwide

The IMDRF has updated its terminology for categorizing adverse events. The total of seven annexes collect terms for the uniform naming of serious events and include terms for malfunctions of medical devices, patient and user outcomes, and parts or components of medical devices, as well as the associated codes for unique identification.

When reviewing the change log, it is noticeable: there are hardly any important changes. Many (assumed) changes result from so-called "editorial changes". Other changes to often very specific technical terms serve to improve comprehensibility. All updated lists and the change log can be found on the IMDRF page:


In addition, the IMDRF plans to publish a guidance primarily aimed at regulatory authorities. It will contain requirements to be used for the recognition and surveillance of Notified Bodies or Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs).

The document is in draft status and proposals can still be submitted until mid-April. The Australian TGA has a succinct post on this on its website. The link to the IMDRF can also be found there.


USA

Medical Device Reporting

In the U.S., manufacturers (unlike user facilities) are required to submit adverse event information to the FDA's Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH). The electronic Medical Device Reporting (eMDR) project is available for this purpose.

The CDRH has promptly incorporated the changes in IMDRF terminology (see above under "worldwide") into their event codes. These lists are available on the FDA site as well as an overview of the changes:


Real World Evidence

The FDA's CDRH has also published a document that presents examples of real-world evidence (RWE).

The FDA uses RWE for "regulatory decision making": this allows novel products to be approved quickly and spares manufacturers the need to go through lengthy clinical trials. Also useful is a 2017 guidance that describes the process of obtaining RWE from real-world data (RWD). The current document includes examples from various regulatory processes such as de Novo, 510(k), and PMA.

Both documents can be found on FDA's page, which also includes commentary on RWD and RWE.


Biocompatibility

Getting approval or clearance in the US is not quite so easy to achieve. The information provided on a regular basis is all the more helpful for this. A brand new "resource center" has been set up on the subject of biocompatibility assessment. This is where information on evaluation by the FDA is bundled: What terms do you need to know, what are the documentation requirements, and what regulatory requirements must be met?


Yes we can help you!

Just give us a call / email and over 60 experts are standing ready to offer you assistance and support.

Contact +49 451 808 503 60
 

All updates compiled in one PDF file:

You can download all Regulatory Affairs Updates compiled for you as a PDF under the following link.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik

Regulatory Affairs Updates | KW13 21| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 13/21

Medizinprodukte - Weltweite Richtlinien und Vorschriften


Europa

Benannte Stellen

Langsam wird es knapp: Der Geltungsbeginn der Verordnung (EU) 2017/745 rückt immer näher und aktuell stehen gerade mal 19 Benannte Stellen zur Verfügung. Bei der Verordnung (EU) 2017/746 ist die Lage sogar noch dramatischer, da die Beteiligung Benannter Stellen unter der Verordnung dramatisch steigen wird.

Die europäische Kommission hat Ihre Übersichtsgrafik aktualisiert, in der die Anzahl der Benannten Stellen in Abhängigkeit ihres jeweiligen Status im Zertifizierungsprozess dargestellt ist. Aktuell befinden sich noch weitere 23 (MDR) bzw. 7 (IVDR) Benannte Stellen im Zulassungsprozess. Wo genau sich die Stellen im Zertifizierungsprozess befinden, sehen Sie im Dokument unter folgendem Link:


MDCG Updates

Im neuesten Leitfaden der MDCG werden die häufigsten Fragen zu Sonderanfertigungen beantwortet. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Frage, welche Produkte als sogenannte Custom-Made Devices zugelassen werden können und welche Anforderungen daraus für die Hersteller resultieren.


COVID-19

Die MDCG thematisiert in einer weiteren Guidance den Stand der Technik von Covid-19 Antikörper-Schnelltests. Sowohl die Richtlinie 98/79/EC als auch die Verordnung (EU) 2017/746 legen den allgemein anerkannten Stand der Technik bei der Bewertung der vorgesehenen Leistung von In-vitro-Diagnostika zu Grunde. Umso wichtiger ist es als Hersteller, diesen genau zu kennen. Die MDCG hat 102 Gebrauchsanweisungen von Covid-19 Schnelltest untersucht. Die Ergebnisse werden mit Blick auf die Modalitäten der Leistungsbewertung und über die diagnostische Leistung im vorliegenden Dokument zusammengefasst.


IMDRF

Weltweit

Die IMDRF hat ihre Terminologie zur Kategorisierung von Adverse Events aktualisiert. Die insgesamt sieben Anhänge sammeln Begriffe zur einheitlichen Benennung schwerwiegender Vorkommnisse und beinhalten Begriffe für Fehlfunktionen von Medizinprodukten, Patienten- und Benutzerereignisse und Teile bzw. Komponenten von Medizinprodukten sowie die zugehörigen Codes zur eindeutigen Kennzeichnung.

Bei Sichtung des Change Logs fällt auf: wichtige Änderungen gibt es kaum. Viele (angenommene) Änderungen ergeben sich aus sogenannten „editorial changes“. Weitere Änderungen an häufig sehr spezifischen Fachbegriffen dienen der besseren Verständlichkeit. Alle aktualisierten Listen und den Change Log finden Sie auf der Seite der IMDRF.


Außerdem plant die IMDRF die Veröffentlichung einer Guidance, die sich in erster Linie an Regulierungsbehörden richtet. Es soll Anforderungen enthalten, die zur Anerkennung und Überwachung von Benannten Stellen bzw. Conformity Assessment Bodys (CABs) genutzt werden sollen.

Das Dokument befindet sich im Draft-Status und noch bis Mitte April können Vorschläge eingebracht werden. Die australische TGA hat einen knappen Beitrag dazu auf ihrer Website. Dort zu finden ist auch der Link zur IMDRF.


USA

Medical Device Reporting

In den USA müssen Hersteller Adverse Event-Informationen an das Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) der FDA übermitteln. Dazu steht das electronic Medical Device Reporting (eMDR) project zur Verfügung.

Das CDRH hat nun prompt die Änderungen der IMDRF-Terminologie (siehe oben unter „weltweit“) in ihren Event Codes übernommen. Diese Listen stehen auf der Seite der FDA bereit sowie eine Übersicht über die Änderungen:


Real World Evidence

Das CDRH der FDA hat außerdem ein Dokument herausgegeben, welches Beispiele von real-world evidence (RWE), also Beweise aus der „echten Welt“, vorstellt.

Die FDA nutzt RWE für „regulatory decision making“: So können neuartige Produkte schnell zugelassen werden und der Weg über langwierige klinische Studien bleibt den Herstellern erspart. Nützlich ist zudem eine Guidance aus dem Jahr 2017, die den Prozess der Gewinnung von RWE aus real-world data (RWD) beschreibt. Das aktuelle Dokument umfasst Beispiele aus diversen Zulassungsprozessen wie de Novo, 510(k) oder PMA.

Beide Dokumente finden sich auf der Seite der FDA, die außerdem noch einen Kommentar zu RWD und RWE enthält.


Ja, wir können Ihnen helfen!

Rufen Sie uns einfach an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail. Über 60 Experten stehen bereit, um Ihnen Hilfe und Unterstützung zu bieten.

Kontakt +49 451 808 503 60
 

Wir haben alle Updates für Sie im Überblick:

Unter folgendem Link können Sie die von uns zusammengestellten Regulatory Affairs Updates als PDF herunterladen.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik