Regulatory Affairs Updates | CW09 21| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 09/21

Medical Devices - Guidelines and Regulations Worldwide


Europe

MDCG guidance on EUDAMED

The newest guidance was just released last week: the MDCG published a “Guidance on harmonized administrative practices and alternative technical solutions until EUDAMED is fully functional”. The 31 pages long document addresses the difficulties caused by the still non-functional EUDAMED database. The requirements of Regulation (EU) 2017/745 are listed in detail with corresponding instructions for compliance. The document offers a lot of important information which will be helpful for a lot of medical device manufacturers.


Guidance on legacy devices

A new guidance paper was published dealing with the management of legacy devices. These devices were CE marked under the Directives 93/42/EEC or 90/385/EEC. Registration requirements of MDR and IVDR respectively still apply but a few exceptions exist. The guidance describes the identification process of legacy devices in EUDAMED (as soon as it is functionable) and format of the EUDAMED DI which is required for each device. Find the guidance by clicking the link:


IMDRF

The International Medical Device Regulators Forum published the final document on principles of the classification of in vitro diagnostics. The document provides four risk classes A, B, C and D for IVDs and classification rules based on the intended use, the impact of the result and others.


Asia

The Asian Harmonization Working Party has once again published a series of presentation with updates and general information from its member states. This time the focus is clearly on COVID-19. The following countries are included: India has updated their regulation on COVID-19 Reagents/Kit giving a detailed regulatory pathway for domestic manufacturing and import. It also provides acceptance criteria concerning sensitivity and specificity for this kind of IVDs.


In Indonesia, a couple of measures were taken to accelerate the import of products needed in handling COVID-19. The “relaxations” include priority service time and simplification of requirements.


The Saudi Food & Drug Authority has also installed a couple of simplifications to manage the outbreak of COVID-19. The approval process in Saudi Arabia is expedited and the extent of the technical documentation required for approval is reduced. In total 16 measures were introduced including the possibility of Emergency Use authorization (EUA).


Other presentations cover the regulatory framework of Korea, Singapore and Thailand. They can be found on the website of AHWP:


Myanmar

The Southeast Asian country is experiencing troubling times since the military took over the power from the democratic party and declared a state of emergency. The next election was announced for early 2022. Currently the website of the Myanmar Food and Drug Administration is not available.


Australia

Australia published a couple documents in February. The first one deals with the regulatory changes for software based medical devices that took effect last week. It is accompanied by an additional document about clinical decision software. Both documents should be checked in order to identify possible regulatory gaps.


The third document outlines the TGA’s approach to identify and manage risk associated with therapeutic goods. It deals with medical devices as well as biologicals and medicines.


The fourth one is a collection of answers to frequently asked questions on personalized medical devices.


Russia

New regulation for the import of samples

Medical device samples are subject to new import procedures before entering the country for registration or renewal reasons. According to the regulation No. 661n those samples need an import permit, and the required documents have to be submitted electronically.


New PMS requirements in Russia and Kazakhstan

Russian Order No. 980n and a new Kazak regulation describe requirements for post-market surveillance which apply to medical devices that are registered locally in the respective country. For devices that are approved under the Eurasian laws the Eurasian regulations No. 174 applies.


Singapore

Singapore’s Health Sciences Authority has launched a remarkable medical device grouping tool. It will help to determine the medical devices grouping category prior to submitting the registration application. By answering the questions to your devices you will find out the correct grouping term.


COVID-19 related

The MDCG remains busy and published another guidance document. It provides answers to frequently asked questions on in vitro diagnostic medical device conformity assessment and performance in the context of COVID-19. While some questions are rather basic, the answers to questions on sensitivity and specificity of COVID-19 tests as well as on further guidance can be helpful. In conclusion, the paper can be helpful for companies aiming to place their IVD products on the European market for the first time.


Yes we can help you!

Just give us a call / email and over 60 experts are standing ready to offer you assistance and support.

Contact +49 451 808 503 60
 

All updates compiled in one PDF file:

You can download all Regulatory Affairs Updates compiled for you as a PDF under the following link.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik

| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 09/21

Medizinprodukte - Weltweite Richtlinien und Vorschriften


Europa

MDCG Guidance über EUDAMED

Die neueste Guidance wurde erst letzte Woche veröffentlicht: Die MDCG hat die "Guidance on harmonized administrative practices and alternative technical solutions until EUDAMED is fully functional" veröffentlicht. Das 31 Seiten lange Dokument befasst sich mit den Schwierigkeiten, die durch das noch nicht funktionierende EUDAMED-System entstehen. Die Anforderungen der Verordnung (EU) 2017/745 werden detailliert aufgelistet und sind mit entsprechenden Hinweisen versehen. Das Dokument bietet wichtige Informationen, die für viele Medizinproduktehersteller hilfreich sein werden, sobald die ersten Probleme auftauchen.


Es wurde ein neuer Leitfaden veröffentlicht, der sich mit dem Management von Legacy Devices befasst. Dies sind Geräte, die bereits unter den Richtlinien 93/42/EWG oder 90/385/EWG CE-gekennzeichnet wurden. Die Anforderungen der MDR bzw. IVDR gelten nach wie vor, doch es gibt einige Ausnahmen bei der Zulassung von Legacy Devices. Der Leitfaden beschreibt den Identifizierungsprozess von Legacy Devices in EUDAMED (sobald es funktionsfähig ist) und das Format der EUDAMED DI, die für jedes Gerät benötigt wird. Den Leitfaden finden Sie, wenn Sie auf den Link klicken:


COVID-19

Europa

Die MDCG bleibt fleißig und hat einen weiteren Leitfaden veröffentlicht. Er gibt Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zur Konformitätsbewertung und der diagnostischen Leistung von In-vitro-Diagnostika im Rahmen von COVID-19. Während einige Fragen eher grundlegend sind, können die Informationen zur Sensitivität und Spezifität von COVID-19-Tests sowie Hinweise zu weiteren Leitlinien hilfreich sein. Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass das Papier für Unternehmen, die ihre IVD-Produkte erstmals auf dem europäischen Markt platzieren wollen, hilfreich sein kann.


IMDRF

Das International Medical Device Regulators Forum hat das endgültige Dokument zu den Prinzipien der Klassifizierung von In-vitro-Diagnostika veröffentlicht. Das Dokument sieht vier Risikoklassen A, B, C und D für IVDs vor und beinhaltet Klassifizierungsregeln, die unter anderem auf der Zweckbestimmung, den möglichen Auswirkungen des Testergebnisses basieren.


Asien

Die Asian Harmonization Working Party hat wieder eine Reihe von Präsentationen mit Updates und allgemeinen Informationen ihrer Mitgliedsstaaten veröffentlicht. Diesmal liegt der Fokus eindeutig auf COVID-19. Die folgenden Länder sind mit dabei:

Indien hat seine Verordnung zu COVID-19-Reagenzien und -Kits aktualisiert und gibt einen detaillierten Zulassungsweg für die inländische Herstellung und den Import vor. Sie gibt auch Akzeptanzkriterien bezüglich Sensitivität und Spezifität für diese spezielle Art von IVDs vor.

In Indonesien wurden eine Reihe von Maßnahmen ergriffen, um den Import von Produkten zu beschleunigen, die für die Behandlung mit COVID-19 benötigt werden. Die "Relaxations" beinhalten beschleunigte Servicezeiten und eine Vereinfachung der regulatorischen Anforderungen.

Die Saudi Food & Drug Authority hat ebenfalls eine Reihe von Vereinfachungen installiert, um den Ausbruch von COVID-19 zu bewältigen. Der Zulassungsprozess in Saudi-Arabien wurde beschleunigt und der Umfang der technischen Dokumentation, die für die Zulassung erforderlich ist, wurde reduziert. Insgesamt wurden 16 Maßnahmen eingeführt, darunter auch die Möglichkeit einer Emergency Use Authorization (EUA).

Weitere Präsentationen behandeln die regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen in Korea, Singapur und Thailand. Sie sind auf der Website der AHWP zu finden:


Myanmar

Das südostasiatische Land durchlebt unruhige Zeiten, seit das Militär die Macht von der demokratischen Partei übernommen und den Ausnahmezustand ausgerufen hat. Die nächste Wahl wurde für Anfang 2022 angekündigt. Derzeit ist die Website der Myanmar Food and Drug Administration nicht verfügbar.


Australien

Australien hat im Februar eine ganze Reihe an Dokumenten veröffentlicht. Das erste beschäftigt sich mit den regulatorischen Änderungen für softwarebasierte Medizinprodukte, die letzte Woche in Kraft getreten sind. Es wird begleitet von einem weiteren Dokument über klinische Entscheidungssoftware. Beide Dokumente sollten überprüft werden, um mögliche regulatorische Lücken identifizieren und kurzfristig schließen zu können.


Das dritte Dokument skizziert den Ansatz der TGA zur Identifizierung und zum Management von Risiken im Zusammenhang mit „Therapeutic Goods". Es befasst sich sowohl mit Medizinprodukten als auch mit Arzneimitteln.


Das vierte Dokument ist eine Sammlung von Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zu personalisierten Medizinprodukten.


Russland

Neue Regelung für den Import von Mustern

Für Muster von Medizinprodukten gelten neue Einfuhrbestimmungen, bevor sie zur Registrierung oder Erneuerung ins Land kommen. Gemäß der Verordnung Nr. 661n benötigen diese Muster eine Einfuhrgenehmigung und die erforderlichen Dokumente müssen elektronisch eingereicht werden.


Neue PMS-Anforderungen in Russland und Kasachstan

Die russische Verordnung Nr. 980n und eine neue kasachische Verordnung beschreiben Anforderungen an die Post-Market Surveillance, die für Medizinprodukte gelten, die lokal im jeweiligen Land registriert sind. Für Produkte, die nach den Gesetzen der Eurasischen Wirtschaftsunion zugelassen sind, gilt die eurasische Verordnung Nr. 174.


Singapur

Die Gesundheitsbehörde von Singapur hat ein bemerkenswertes Tool zur Gruppierung von Medizinprodukten eingeführt. Es hilft bei der Bestimmung der Gruppierungskategorie von Medizinprodukten vor der Einreichung des Registrierungsantrags. Durch die Beantwortung der Fragen zu Ihren Geräten finden Sie den richtigen Gruppierungs-Term heraus.


Ja, wir können Ihnen helfen!

Rufen Sie uns einfach an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail. Über 60 Experten stehen bereit, um Ihnen Hilfe und Unterstützung zu bieten.

Kontakt +49 451 808 503 60
 

Wir haben alle Updates für Sie im Überblick:

Unter folgendem Link können Sie die von uns zusammengestellten Regulatory Affairs Updates als PDF herunterladen.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik
Deutsch