qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update CW32/21 en| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 32/21

Medical Devices - Guidelines and Regulations Worldwide


Europe

List of harmonized Standards under MDR

The latest issue starts with a rather sobering announcement. Although the European Commission has published a list of harmonized standards under the MDR, it contains only five entries.

In addition to EN ISO 10993-23:2021, four standards for sterilization of medical devices are listed. We would have hoped for a more comprehensive list of widely applied standards, but at least a first step has been taken.


Integration of the UDI within a QM-System

MDCG Guidance 2021-19 is entitled "Guidance note integration of the UDI within an organization's quality management system". As the title suggests, the document contains useful guidance on the practical implementation of the UDI requirements of the MDR in connection with the quality management system.

Specifically, the document includes considerations on the interfaces to development, production, procurement and, of course, EUDAMED. Two annexes also contain an exemplary UDI process and an implementation plan. This is certainly one of the most useful Guidances of this year so far.


International News

Worldwide

Recognition of CABs

The IMDRF has published a new document on the recognition of Conformity Assessment Bodies - i.e. Notified Bodies. It formulates requirements for the initial recognition process, but also describes the ongoing monitoring, re-recognition and even the withdrawal of accreditation.

The appendix also contains a table with the previously established requirements of the document. One of three grades is assigned for non-conformity, depending on the severity. The guidance document has been published on the IMDRF site:


Myanmar

Website online again!

Good news from Myanmar: after the military coup and the subsequent shutdown of the Myanmar FDA website, it is now back online! Most of the content is still only available in Burmese, but we are happy nevertheless.


India

Classification of devices pertaining to anesthesiology

We hear little from India from a regulatory perspective. But now, a list has been published that serves to classify devices from the field of anesthesia in accordance with the Medical Devices Rules, 2017. In ten pages, 112 medical devices are classified into four risk classes. An explicit Intended Use is provided for each device. Unfortunately, there is no detailed explanation of the application of the document.


Australia

Consultation

Australia has meanwhile earned a regular place at this position. In the meantime, however, medical device reform has almost been completed. The regulation of substances intended to be inserted into the body through an orifice or applied to the skin as medical devices is still open.

A consultation procedure has now been opened, but it will only be open until mid-August. Anyone wishing to comment on the document presented can do so in the recently opened Consultation Hub:


Singapore

Consultation on SaMD and CDSS

The Health Science Authority (HSA) of Singapore has published a document on the classification of standalone medical mobile applications (SaMD) from A to C The risk based criterias for the classification based on the State of healthcare situation or condition and the significance of information provided by SaMD to healthcare decision.

As an aside, the question of the qualification of clinical decision support software (CDSS) as a medical device is also answered.

The document is in draft status until August 19 and can still be commented on until then. More info can be found here:The document is in draft status until August 19 and can still be commented on until then. More info can be found here:


Canada

Classification of products at the drug-medical device interface

Canada has revised its document on the classification of combination products. These products "at the drug-medical device interface" are classified by the Canadian Food & Drugs Act, which consists of four Regulations. Which of these regulations applies to this class of products is explained in this document.

The guidance was originally published in 2013, so this first proper revision was more than overdue:


China

Standards Revisionsprogram

China has announced a major revision program of its standards in the medical device sector, comprising a total of 77 documents. Together with the announcement of the revision, a document with an overview of the current status was also published, which will hopefully receive regular updates. As expected, all the information is in Chinese, but fortunately various translation options are available free of charge.

Yes we can help you!

Just give us a call / email and over 60 experts are standing ready to offer you assistance and support.

Contact +49 451 808 503 60
 

All updates compiled in one PDF file:

You can download all Regulatory Affairs Updates compiled for you as a PDF under the following link.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik

qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update KW32/21 de| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 32/21

Medizinprodukte - Weltweite Richtlinien und Vorschriften


Europa

Liste harmonisierter Standards unter der MDR

Die neueste Ausgabe beginnt mit einer eher ernüchternden Mitteilung. Zwar hat die europäische Kommission eine Liste mit harmonisierten Standards unter der MDR veröffentlicht, allerdings beinhaltet diese gerade mal fünf Einträge.

Neben der EN ISO 10993-23:2021 sind vier Normen zur Sterilisation von Medizinprodukten aufgeführt. Wir hätten auf eine etwas umfassendere Liste mit breit angewandten Normen gehofft, aber immerhin wurde ein erster Schritt getan.


Integration der UDI in ein QM-System

Die MDCG-Guidance 2021-19 trägt den Titel „Guidance note integration of the UDI within an organisation’s quality management system“. Wie der Titel vermuten lässt, enthält das Dokument nützliche Hinweise zur praktischen Umsetzung der UDI-Anforderungen der MDR in Zusammenhang mit dem Qualitätsmanagementsystem.

Konkret finden sich in dem Dokument Überlegungen zu den Schnittstellen der Entwicklung, Produktion, Beschaffung und natürlich EUDAMED. In zwei Annexen ist außerdem ein beispielhafter UDI-Prozess und ein Implementation Plan enthalten. Mit Sicherheit ist dies eine der bisher nützlichsten Guidances diesen Jahres.


Internationale News

Weltweit

Website wieder online!

Die IMDRF hat ein neues Dokument zur Akkreditierung von Conformity Assessment Bodys – sprich Benannten Stellen – veröffentlicht. Darin werden Anforderungen an den initialen Vergabeprozess der Akkreditierung formuliert, aber auch die fortlaufende Überwachung, die Neuakkreditierung und sogar der Entzug der Akkreditierung beschrieben.

Das Dokument ist mit 34 Seiten nicht zu kurz geraten. Im Anhang ist zusätzlich eine Tabelle mit den zuvor aufgestellten Anforderungen des Dokuments enthalten. Für die Nichtkonformität wird eine von drei Grades vergeben, je nach Schwere. Das Guidance-Dokument wurde auf der Seite der IMDRF veröffentlicht:


Myanmar

Website wieder online!

Eine erfreuliche Nachricht aus Myanmar: nach dem Militärputsch und der darauf folgenden Abschaltung der Website der myanmarischen FDA, ist diese nun wieder online! Die meisten Inhalte sind zwar noch immer nur auf Birmanisch vorhanden, aber wir freuen uns dennoch.


Indien

Klassifizierung von Geräten Anästhesie

Aus Indien hört man wenig aus regulatorischer Sicht. Nun wurde allerdings eine Liste veröffentlicht, die der Klassifizierung von Geräten aus dem Fachbereich der Anästhesie in Übereinstimmung mit den Medical Devices Rules, 2017 dient. Auf zehn Seiten werden 112 Medizinprodukte in vier Risikoklassen eingeteilt. Für jedes Gerät wird ein expliziter Intended Use bereitgestellt. Eine ausführliche Erklärung zu der Anwendung des Dokuments gibt es leider nicht.


Australien

Konsultationsverfahren

Australien hat sich mittlerweile einen Stammplatz an dieser Stelle verdient. Mittlerweile ist die Medical Device Reform aber fast abgeschlossen. Offen ist aktuell noch die Regulierung von Substanzen als Medizinprodukten, die dazu bestimmt sind, durch eine Körperöffnung in den Körper eingeführt zu werden oder auf der Haut aufgetragen werden.

Nun wurde ein Konsultationsverfahren eröffnet, dass allerdings nur noch bis Mitte August offen steht. Wer das vorgestellte Dokument kommentieren möchte, kann dies im kürzlich eröffneten Consultation Hub tun:


Singapur

Konsultationsverfahren SaMD und CDSS

Die Health Science Authority von Singapur hat ein Dokument zur Klassifizierung von Standalone Medical Mobile Applications (SaMD) von Klasse A zu C herausgebracht. Der Risikobasierte Ansatz verfolgt dabei Kriterien bezüglich des Gesundheitszustandes und der Signifikanz der zur Verfügung gestellten Information. Ganz nebenbei wird dann auch noch die Frage nach der Qualifizierung von Clinical Decision Support Software als Medizinprodukt beantwortet.

Das Dokument befindet sich bis zum 19. August im Draft-Status und kann so lange noch kommentiert werden. Mehr Infos sind hier zu finden:


Kanada

Konsultationsverfahren

Kanada hat sein Dokument zur Klassifizierung von Kombinationsprodukten überarbeitet. Diese Produkte „at the drug-medical device interface“ werden durch den kanadischen Food & Drugs Act klassifiziert, der aus vier Regulations besteht. Welche dieser Regulations bei der vorliegenden Produktklasse Anwendung findet, wird in diesem Dokument erläutert.

Ursprünglich wurde die Guidance 2013 veröffentlicht; diese erste richtige Revision war also mehr als überfällig:


China

Standards Revisionsprogram

China hat ein großes Revisionsprogramm seiner Standards im Medizinproduktesektor angekündigt, das insgesamt 77 Dokumente umfasst. Zusammen mit der Ankündigung der Überarbeitung erschien auch ein Dokument mit einer Übersicht über den aktuellen Status, das hoffentlich regelmäßig ein Update erfährt. Wie zu erwarten sind alle Informationen auf chinesisch, aber zum Glück stehen diverse Übersetzungsmöglichkeiten kostenfrei zur Verfügung.


Ja, wir können Ihnen helfen!

Rufen Sie uns einfach an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail. Über 60 Experten stehen bereit, um Ihnen Hilfe und Unterstützung zu bieten.

Kontakt +49 451 808 503 60
 

Wir haben alle Updates für Sie im Überblick:

Unter folgendem Link können Sie die von uns zusammengestellten Regulatory Affairs Updates als PDF herunterladen.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik