qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update CW28/21 en| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 28/21

Medical Devices - Guidelines and Regulations Worldwide


Europe

Q&A about Registration in EUDAMED

The MDCG has published a very interesting document on registration in EUDAMED. It doesn’t answer the obvious questions that have long been discussed. Rather, it addresses the requirements for manufacturers, authorized representatives and importers that are not mentioned in Article 31 of the MDR or Article 28 of the IVDR. These include, but are not limited to, custom made, legacy and old device manufacturers.

So this Q&A is aimed at only a few companies, as the requirements are certainly clear for most stakeholders. Nevertheless, it is worth taking a look here. A Commission Implementing Regulation is also announced, which shall sufficiently define the registration in EUDAMED for all stakeholders.


The European Nomenclature for Medical Devices

The MDCG Guidance 2021-12 has undergone a visual make-up. The document, which answers questions about the European Medical Device Nomenclature (EMDN), is not only informative, but finally also nice to look at. Those who have not read the document so far may now have another reason.

At the latest when the Device Registration Module in EUDAMED goes online (announced for September), the document could become helpful. Namely, it explains the structure of the database and how to use it when registering devices in EUDAMED, which is required by both MDR and IVDR. The document can be found here:


The nomenclature can be viewed on the page of the European Commission:


Explanatory note on IVDR codes

Besides answering questions on the European Nomenclature the MDCG also took care of the IVDR codes. These are needed mainly for the designation of Notified Bodies, but are also helpful for manufacturers. Especially when choosing a Notified Body to ensure that all codes are covered by the NB.

The guidance MDCG 2021-14 describes the different type codes and explains which and how many codes are to be assigned to each device. For those eager enough to read until chapter 5 of the guidance, each code is equipped with device examples and special considerations for the code.



International News

USA

Cybersecurity and Servicing

In the last issue of the qtec RA news round-up, we reported that Joe Biden had given cybersecurity a new priority by decree. The implementation in the field of medical device technology is not long in coming: currently a document of the FDA is open for discussion, which examines the cybersecurity of medical devices in connection with servicing activities.

So far, four topics (privileged access, identification of cybersecurity vulnerabilities and incidents, prevention and mitigation of cybersecurity vulnerabilities, and product lifecycle challenges and opportunities) have been identified for increased attention. Those wishing to comment on these topics have until Aug. 17th to do so.


The Difference between Servicing and Remanufacturing

While you're at it, you can also comment on the next FDA document. This one is about remanufacturing, which should not be confused with the previously discussed servicing.

The 35-page document explains the differences, gives examples, and summarizes the requirements, which include labeling. The document is open for comments until August 23rd.


Form and Content of the Unique Device Identifier

The document on the US Unique Device Identification System can no longer be commented on. The final version of this document is now available - five years after it was first published.

It contains explanations of the FDA's requirements for the UDI with regard to the form and content of the number. The document is intended not only for manufacturers, but for all stakeholders, who apply labels and also to certified issuing agencies.


Yes we can help you!

Just give us a call / email and over 60 experts are standing ready to offer you assistance and support.

Contact +49 451 808 503 60
 

All updates compiled in one PDF file:

You can download all Regulatory Affairs Updates compiled for you as a PDF under the following link.

qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update KW28/21 de| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 28/21

Medizinprodukte - Weltweite Richtlinien und Vorschriften

Gebiete

Europa

Fragen und Antworten zur Registrierung in EUDAMED

Die MDCG hat ein sehr interessantes Dokument zur Registrierung in EUDAMED veröffentlicht. Darin werden allerdings nicht die offensichtlichen Fragen beantwortet, die längst diskutiert werden. Vielmehr geht es um die Anforderungen an Hersteller, Bevollmächtigte und Importeure, die nicht in Artikel 31 der MDR bzw. Artikel 28 der IVDR genannt werden. Dies sind unter anderem Hersteller von Custom Made, Legacy und Old Devices.

Dieses Q&A richtet sich also eher an einige wenige Unternehmen, da die Anforderungen für die meisten Akteure sicher eindeutig sind. Dennoch lohnt es sich einmal hier reinzuschauen. Angekündigt wird aber auch eine Commission Implementing Regulation, welche die Registrierung in EUDAMED für alle Akteure klar definieren soll.


Die europäische Nomenklatur für Medizinprodukte

Die MDCG-Guidance 2021-12 hat ein optisches Lifting erfahren. Das Dokument, in dem Fragen rund um die europäische Nomenklatur für Medizinprodukte (EMDN) beantwortet werden ist nun nicht nur informativ, sondern auch schön anzuschauen. Wer sich das Dokument bisher nicht angeschaut hat, hat vielleicht nun einen weiteren Grund.

Spätestens, wenn das Device Registration Module in EUDAMED online geht (angekündigt für September), könnte das Dokument hilfreich werden. Es erklärt nämlich den Aufbau der Datenbank und die Anwendung bei der Registrierung der Produkte in EUDAMED, die von MDR und IVDR gefordert wird. Das Dokument ist hier zu finden:


Die Nomenklatur kann man sich auf der Seite der europäischen Kommission anschauen:


Erläuterungen zu neuen IVDR codes

Neben den Fragen zur europäischen Nomenklatur widmete sich die MDCG auch den IVDR Codes, welche maßgeblich den Scope der Benannten Stelle beschreiben, aber auch an mancher Stelle hilfreich für Hersteller sein können. Vor allem bei der Wahl der Benannten Stelle, um sicherzustellen, dass auch alle Codes durch diese abgedeckt werden.

Die Guidance MDCG 2021-14 geht hierbei auf die unterschiedlichen Type Codes ein und erläutert, wie viele dieser Codes dem Produkt unter welchen Bedingungen zugewiesen werden müssen. Wer es bis zum Kapitel 5 der Guidance schafft, erhält für jeden Code zusätzliche Hinweise und Beispielprodukte.



Internationale News

USA

Cybersecurity bei Servicing-Aktivitäten

In der letzten Ausgabe des qtec RA news round-ups haben wir davon berichtet, dass Joe Biden das Thema Cybersecurity per Dekret mit einer neuen Priorität versehen hat. Die Umsetzung im Bereich der Medizintechnik lässt nicht lange auf sich warten: aktuell ist ein Dokument der FDA offen zur Diskussion, dass die Cybersecurity von Medizintechnikprodukten im Zusammenhang mit Servicing-Aktivitäten untersucht.

Bisher wurden vier Themen identifiziert (privileged access, identification of cybersecurity vulnerabilities and incidents, prevention and mitigation of cybersecurity vulnerabilities, and product lifecycle challenges and opportunities), denen eine erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet werden soll. Wer diese Auswahl kommentieren möchte, hat noch bis zum 17. August Gelegenheit.


Der Unterschied zwischen Servicing und Remanufacturing

Wer schon mal dabei ist, kann gleich das nächste Dokument der FDA kommentieren. Hier geht es um das Remanufacturing, was nicht mit dem zuvor thematisierten Servicing verwechselt werden sollte.

Das 35 Seiten lange Dokument erklärt die Unterschiede, gibt Beispiele und stellt die Anforderungen zusammen, die unter anderem das Labeling betreffen. Kommentieren kann man das Dokument bis zum 23. August.


Form und Inhalt des Unique Device Identifiers

Nicht mehr kommentiert werden kann das Dokument zum US-amerikanischen Unique Device Identification System. Dieses steht nun - fünf Jahre nach der erstmaligen Veröffentlichung - in seiner endgültigen Fassung zur Verfügung.

Dort zu finden sind Erläuterungen zu den Anforderungen der FDA an die UDI hinsichtlich Form und Inhalt der Nummer. Das Dokument richtet sich nicht bloß an Hersteller, sondern an alle Akteure, die Label anbringen und auch an zertifizierte Ausstellungsstellen.


Ja, wir können Ihnen helfen!

Rufen Sie uns einfach an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail. Über 60 Experten stehen bereit, um Ihnen Hilfe und Unterstützung zu bieten.

Kontakt +49 451 808 503 60
 

Wir haben alle Updates für Sie im Überblick:

Unter folgendem Link können Sie die von uns zusammengestellten Regulatory Affairs Updates als PDF herunterladen.