| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 24/21

Medical Devices - Guidelines and Regulations Worldwide


Europe

Transition period until EUDAMED is fully functional

Unfortunately, the latest announcement of the German Federal Ministry of Health is only available in German. Since the full functionality of the European EUDAMED database is not yet given, national specifications and options to meet the requirements of the MDR are introduced. Of course, these also apply to manufacturers from other countries than Germany!

This now means that not only manufacturers, but also importers and distributors must check very carefully what the respective national specifications are until EUDAMED is fully operational. The German solutions can be read in the following document:


Call to Action of In Vitro Diagnostics Stakeholders

Back in May, a high-profile incendiary letter on the implementation of the IVDR was published. The editors are the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations, the European Cancer Patient Coalition and the company Diaceutics.

In view of the known problems in implementing the requirements of the IVDR, the letter calls for an appropriate response from the European Commission. For example, EUDAMED is not yet operational, reference laboratories are not yet available, and there are too few notified bodies to meet the immense demand for certification. One of the concrete demands is a postponement of the Date of Application by one year. If the current situation remains as it is, a large number of patients are likely to be undersupplied.
The letter can be read here:


IVDR Joint Implementation Plan

As if the European Commission had read the Call to Action of the IVD stakeholders, a Joint Implementation Plan was published shortly afterwards, which is addressed to MDCG, the member states and the Commission itself.

This plan is supposed to be a living document and will be constantly updated to monitor the implementation process. The document identifies and discusses the major hurdles in the implementation of the IVDR. In addition, sometimes more, sometimes less concrete priority actions are proposed. But whether the idea "Make available national experts" really contributes to solving the problem of the availability of notified bodies remains at least questionable.


Endorsement of IMDRF Guidance N48

The new MDCG Guidance 2020-10 is more like an announcement. It states that Annexes E to I of IMDRF Guidance N48 will be endorsed. These IMDRF appendices provide examples of how to applicate UDIs and address potential issues. Also, the MDCG adds some explanations to these examples.


Device Types in Implant Cards

The eleventh MDCG Guidance of this year deals with the implant card and is to be understood as a supplement to Guidance MDCG 2019-8. The document now provides a list of possible Device Types to be entered in the implant card. The list includes 88 entries and can be found here:


International News

Australia

The Australian TGA continues to be busy working on the new regulatory framework for medical devices. Now it's the turn of personalized medical devices, and an official document is open for comment. The consultation process is intended to clarify, among other things, whether the classification of personalized medical devices is appropriate to their risk profile.

Comments can be submitted until July 14. Of course, this all runs through the recently launched Consultation Hub.


USA

By Executive Order, the U.S. president has called for an improvement in the government's cybersecurity. The FDA has responded by publishing a kind of summary of the currently valid guidance and standards on this topic from the medical technology sector. The document is aimed first at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), which is involved in implementing the order.

Five pages are devoted to answering NIST's specific questions, providing a nice overview of the state of the art on cybersecurity. This starts with the question about the criticality of a software and ends with test requirements for source code. The exciting document can be found on the FDA website:


Yes we can help you!

Just give us a call / email and over 60 experts are standing ready to offer you assistance and support.

Contact +49 451 808 503 60
 

All updates compiled in one PDF file:

You can download all Regulatory Affairs Updates compiled for you as a PDF under the following link.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik

qtec group| Regulatory Affairs Update KW24 2021 DE| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 24/21

Medizinprodukte - Weltweite Richtlinien und Vorschriften


Europa

Übergangsfristen bis zur Funktionsfähigkeit von EUDAMED

Leider nur auf Deutsch verfügbar ist die neueste Bekanntmachung des Bundesministeriums für Gesundheit. Da die volle Funktionalität der europäischen EUDAMED-Datenbank noch nicht gegeben ist, gibt es nun nationale Vorgaben und Möglichkeiten, um die Anforderungen der MDR zu erfüllen. Natürlich gelten diese auch für Hersteller aus anderen Ländern!

Dies bedeutet nun, dass nicht nur Hersteller, sondern auch Importeure und Händler ganz genau überprüfen müssen, wie die jeweiligen nationalen Vorgaben bis zur vollen Einsatzfähigkeit EUDAMEDs lauten. Die deutschen Lösungen lassen sich in folgendem Dokument nachlesen:


Call to Action der In-vitro-Diagnostik-Industrie

Bereits im Mai wurde ein viel beachteter Brandbrief zur Implementierung der IVDR veröffentlicht. Herausgeber sind die European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations, die European Cancer Patient Coalition und die Firma Diaceutics.

Mit Blick auf die bekannten Probleme bei der Umsetzung der Anforderungen der IVDR wird eine entsprechende Reaktion der Europäischen Kommission gefordert. So sei EUDAMED noch nicht funktionstüchtig, Referenzlaboratorien stünden noch nicht zur Verfügung und es gäbe zu wenig Benannte Stellen, um dem immensen Bedarf an Zertifizierungen gerecht zu werden. Konkret wird unter anderem eine Verschiebung des Geltungsbeginns um ein Jahr gefordert. Sollte es dennoch bei den bestehenden Verhältnissen bleiben, sei mit einer Unterversorgen einer Vielzahl von Patienten zu rechnen.
Der Brief kann hier nachgelesen werden:


IVDR Joint Implementation Plan

Als hätte die europäische Kommission den Call to Action der IVD-Industrie gelesen, wurde kurze Zeit später ein Joint Implementation Plan veröffentlicht, welcher sich unter anderem an MDCG, die Mitgliedsstaaten und die Kommission selbst richtet.

Dieser Plan soll ein living document sein und stetig geupdatet werden, um die Umsetzung zu Überwachen. In dem Dokument werden die größten Hürden bei der Implementierung der IVDR benannt und diskutiert. Außerdem werden mal mehr, mal weniger konkrete priority actions vorgeschlagen, doch ob die Idee „Make available national experts“ wirklich zur Lösung des Problems der Verfügbarkeit von Benannten Stellen beiträgt, bleibt zumindest fragwürdig.


Annerkennung der IMDRF Guidance N48

Die neue MDCG Guidance 2020-10 ist schon fast eher eine Bekanntmachung. Und zwar wird verkündet, dass die Anhänge E bis I der IMDRF Guidance N48 nun anerkannt werden. In diesen Anhängen der IMDRF werden Beispiele für die Anbringung von UDIs gegeben und mögliche Probleme adressiert. Die MDCG fügt den Beispielen außerdem noch einige Erklärungen an.


Device Types im Implantationsausweis

Die elfte Guidance der MDCG dieses Jahrs beschäftigt sich mit dem Implantationsausweis und ist als Ergänzung zur Guidance MDCG 2019-8 zu verstehen. Das Dokument gibt nun eine Liste an möglichen, im Impfausweis einzutragenden Device Types. Die Liste umfasst 88 Einträge und ist hier zu finden:


Internationale News

Australien

Die australische TGA ist weiter fleißig dabei, das regulatorische Rahmenwerk für Medizinprodukte zu bearbeiten. Nun sind personalisierte Medizinprodukte an der Reihe und ein offizielles Dokument ist offen zur Kommentierung. Das Konsultationsverfahren soll unter anderem klären, ob die Klassifizierung dieser Produkte dem jeweiligen Risikoprofil angemessen ist.

Kommentare können bis zum 14. Juli abgegeben werden. Das alles läuft natürlich über das kürzlich eingeführte Consultation Hub.


USA

Per Dekret hat der amerikanische Präsident eine Verbesserung der Cybersecurity der Regierung gefordert. Die FDA reagiert darauf mit der Veröffentlichung einer Art Zusammenfassung der aktuell gültigen Guidances und Standards zu diesem Thema aus dem Bereich der Medizintechnik. Das Dokument richtet sich zunächst an das National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), das an der Umsetzung des Dekrets beteiligt ist.

Auf fünf Seiten wird den konkreten Fragen des NIST geantwortet und damit eine schöne Übersicht über den Status Quo beim Thema Cybersecurity gegeben. Dies beginnt bei der Frage nach der Kritikalität einer Software und endet bei Testanforderungen für von Sourcecode. Das spannende Dokument ist auf der Website der FDA zu finden:


Ja, wir können Ihnen helfen!

Rufen Sie uns einfach an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail. Über 60 Experten stehen bereit, um Ihnen Hilfe und Unterstützung zu bieten.

Kontakt +49 451 808 503 60
 

Wir haben alle Updates für Sie im Überblick:

Unter folgendem Link können Sie die von uns zusammengestellten Regulatory Affairs Updates als PDF herunterladen.