qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update KW19 2021 EN| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 19/21

Medical Devices - Guidelines and Regulations Worldwide


Europe

Factsheet for Class I Medical Devices

On three pages the MDCG has summarized the most important information of the MDR for manufacturers of Class I medical devices. The so-called factsheet addresses practical problems and presents the information in an easy-to-understand manner. For our customers, of course, that’s an old hat. However, the document can be a helpful overview, especially for foreign companies.


Guidance on BASIC UDI-DI and changes to UDI-DI

The MDCG's Guidance 2018-1 is already a few days old. Now, however, the document has been given a makeover with the fourth revision. In the document, both the BASIC UDI-DI and changes to the UDI-DI are explained in more detail.


BSI has published a remarkable news article. The British Standards Institution was the first designated Notified Body for the Medical Devices Regulation and has now grown to 450 employees. Apparently, however, even this number is barely enough to meet the increased demand for auditors due to the requirements of the MDR and IVDR.

Therefore, BSI has now published an overview of the internal deadlines for the submission of technical documentation. It is pointed out that these are not the dates for a first-time submission to the company. In fact, BSI only confirms their effort to issue a certificate by the end of the respective transition periods if the deadlines are met.

The article and the table with the corresponding dates can be found here:


International News

India

Which medical devices must be registered in India is determined by the Central Drugs Standard Control Organization (CDSCO). Since April of this year, the list of devices requiring registration has grown by eight entries. As announced earlier in 2019, the following medical devices must also be registered now:

  • All implantable medical devices
  • CT Scan equipment
  • MRI equipment
  • Defibrillators
  • PET equipment
  • Dialysis machines
  • X-Ray machines
  • Bone marrow cell separators

In addition, a transitional period of 6 months was determined, which allows manufacturers and importers of such products to continue to distribute and import them, although the registration procedure has not yet been completed.

The order can be found here:


Singapore

In mid-April, eight cybersecurity vulnerabilities were discovered in the well-known TCP/IP network stacks FreeBSD version 12.1, Nucleus NET version 4.3, NetX version 6.0.1 and IPnet version VxWorks 6.6. This announcement made headlines around the world and medical devices may also be affected. The discovery by Forescout goes by the name "Name:Wreck". There are no known attacks on these gaps - but depending on the type of device, the potential damage can be high.

The Health Sciences Authority of Singapore has responded by issuing an announcement that indicates suggested courses of actions for affected medical device manufacturers. It also refers to the Forescout’s report:


The HSA document is available at the following link:


Taiwan

Taiwan has introduced new administrative fees and charges for medical equipment. For example, the testing of novel devices costs around 7400 euros. A certificate renewal is already available for around 240 euros. The new fee standards will apply to all medical devices as of May. Since the list has not yet been published in English, it is advisable to use a translation tool.


Yes we can help you!

Just give us a call / email and over 60 experts are standing ready to offer you assistance and support.

Contact +49 451 808 503 60
 

All updates compiled in one PDF file:

You can download all Regulatory Affairs Updates compiled for you as a PDF under the following link.

qtec-group
qtec-group
Partner der Medizintechnik

qtec group | Regulatory Affairs Update KW19 2021 DE| qtec-group

Regulatory Affairs Updates 19/21

Medizinprodukte - Weltweite Richtlinien und Vorschriften


Europa

Factsheet for Class I Medical Devices

Auf drei Seiten hat die MDCG die für Hersteller von Klasse I-Medizinprodukten wichtigsten Informationen der MDR zusammengefasst. Das sogenannte Factsheet greift praxisnahe Probleme auf und stellt die Informationen leicht verständlich dar. Für unsere Kunden ist das alles natürlich kalter Kaffee. Gerade für ausländische Unternehmen kann das Dokument aber eine hilfreiche Übersicht sein.


Guidance on BASIC UDI-DI and changes to UDI-DI

Bereits ein paar Tage auf dem Buckel hat die Guidance 2018-1 der MDCG. Nun hat das Dokument mit der vierten Revision jedoch eine Schönheitskur erfahren. In dem Dokument werden sowohl die BASIC UDI-DI als auch Änderungen an der UDI-DI ausführlich erläutert.


BSI hat einen bemerkenswerten News-Beitrag veröffentlicht. Die British Standards Institution war die erste zertifizierte Benannte Stelle für die Medizinprodukteverordnung und ist mittlerweile auf 450 Mitarbeiter angewachsen. Anscheinend reicht aber auch diese Anzahl kaum, um dem durch die Anforderungen der MDR und IVDR gestiegenen Bedarf an Auditoren gerecht zu werden.

Daher hat BSI nun eine Übersicht über die internen Deadlines zur Einreichung von Technischen Dokumentation veröffentlicht. Es wird darauf hingewiesen, dass dies nicht die Daten für eine erstmaligen Anmeldung beim Unternehmen sind. Tatsächlich bestätigt BSI nur ihr Bemühen, bei Einhaltung der Termine bis zum Ende der jeweiligen Übergangsfristen ein Zertifikat ausstellen zu können.

Der Beitrag und die Tabelle mit den entsprechenden Terminen ist hier zu finden:


Internationale News

Indien

Welche Medizinprodukte in Indien registriert werden müssen, wird durch die Central Drugs Standard Control Organization (CDSCO) festgelegt. Seit April diesen Jahres ist die Liste der registrierungspflichtigen Geräte um acht Einträge länger. Wie bereits Anfang 2019 verkündet, müssen nun auch die folgenden Medizinprodukte registriert werden:

  • All implantable medical devices
  • CT Scan equipment
  • MRI equipment
  • Defibrillators
  • PET equipment
  • Dialysis machines
  • X-Ray machines
  • Bone marrow cell separators

Darüber hinaus wurde eine Übergangszeit von 6 Monate eingeführt, die es Herstellern und Importeuren solcher Produkte ermöglicht diese weiter zu vertreiben und zu importieren, obwohl das Registrierungsverfahren noch nicht abgeschlossen wurde.

Die Verfügung ist hier zu finden:


Singapur

Mitte April wurden gleich acht Sicherheitslücken in den bekannten TCP/IP-Netzwerkstacks FreeBSD version 12.1, Nucleus NET version 4.3, NetX version 6.0.1 und IPnet version VxWorks 6.6 entdeckt. Diese Meldung machte weltweit Schlagzeilen und auch Medizinprodukte können betroffen sein. Die Entdeckung der Firma Forescout läuft unter der Bezeichnung „Name:Wreck“. Es sind zwar keine Angriffe auf diese Lücken bekannt – je nach Gerätetyp kann der mögliche Schaden aber hoch sein.

Die Health Sciences Authority von Singapur hat reagiert und eine Anweisung herausgegeben, in der Vorschläge für die Vorgehensweise von betroffenen Medizintechnikherstellern angegeben ist. Sie verweist unter anderem auf den Report der Firma Forescout:


Das Dokument der HSA ist unter folgendem Link verfügbar:


Taiwan

Taiwan hat neue Verwaltungsgebühren eingeführt. So kostet die Prüfung von neuartigen Produkten circa 7400 Euro. Eine Zertifikatsverlängerung ist bereits für circa 240 Euro zu haben. Die neuen Gebührenstandards gelten ab Mai für alle Medizinprodukte. Da die Liste stand heute noch nicht auf Englisch erschienen ist, empfiehlt sich die Nutzung eines Übersetzungstools.


Ja, wir können Ihnen helfen!

Rufen Sie uns einfach an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail. Über 60 Experten stehen bereit, um Ihnen Hilfe und Unterstützung zu bieten.

Kontakt +49 451 808 503 60
 

Wir haben alle Updates für Sie im Überblick:

Unter folgendem Link können Sie die von uns zusammengestellten Regulatory Affairs Updates als PDF herunterladen.